Catalpa Worms

by Carl Strang

Growing up, I did not have a naturalist to mentor me. There were a couple adults who knew a little, and those contacts were important inspirations. For the most part, however, I had to learn through my own time exploring outdoors, and with the limited books available at the time in Culver, Indiana (2000 people then, 2000 now). On the other hand, in the narrower pursuits of hunting and fishing I learned a lot from Dad. That was an excellent extension of my studies, but it led to some odd misunderstandings. One of those had to do with catalpa worms.

Catalpa worms I knew as summertime bait for panfish. In the loose untutored taxonomy I was building in my head, catalpa worms were, in a sense, their own phylum. I did not think about what their relatives might be. They ate leaves of catalpa trees, usually small ones, and when you found the worms they were in large numbers. You caught them, put them in a cage, took them out on the lake for bluegill, and that was as far as my thinking went.

Not until college, in fact not until graduate school, did my thoughts go back to catalpa worms. I saw them on trees at the edge of the Purdue campus, and at long last realized that they were, as should be obvious from the photo, caterpillars. Furthermore, the single long spike on the end of the abdomen led me to the sphinx moth or hummingbird moth family, as this characteristic is found on larvae of nearly all species in that family, and not in others. The catalpa sphinx moth is strictly nocturnal, a generally nondescript brown color though with the long narrow wings and heavy body characteristic of the Sphingidae.

I knew from dendrology class that catalpa belongs to a plant family that is mainly tropical. In fact catalpa is native only as far north as Kentucky. Those in northern Indiana and Illinois have been introduced. The catalpa sphinx has followed the tree to northern Indiana, but I have not seen them in northeastern Illinois. The catalpa’s exotic defensive chemistry has protected it from nearly all consumers. The catalpa sphinx’s evolution of the ability to deal with those chemicals has given it nearly exclusive access to catalpa leaves, at the cost of narrow dietary specialization.

That chemical relationship the caterpillars have turned to their further advantage by using them for their own protection. Catalpa worms are conspicuous. Their striking black, white and yellow striping contrasts sharply against the tree’s yellow-green leaves. My reading revealed that this is one of the few members of family Sphingidae that lay their eggs in clusters rather than scattered singles. The caterpillars hatch, they become distasteful to birds by consuming catalpa leaves, and birds quickly learn to leave them alone. They are not completely safe, however.

Often you encounter caterpillars like this, covered with the cocoons of a parasitic wasp. Such caterpillars have had their exoskeletons so thoroughly breached by the emerging parasites that they are doomed to dessicate.

While researching the literature on this species I remembered that some fishermen turn the caterpillars inside out when using them for bait. This was exciting, because I thought I could tie this practice to the caterpillars’ chemistry. I know of no other bait treated this way. When I consulted with Dad, however, I learned that the practice is not universal and he, in fact, did not go to the trouble.

So, while I had an amusing incongruity in my childhood thoughts about catalpa worms, it was more than compensated by the enjoyment I found later in studying them from a mature ecologist’s perspective.

21 Comments

  1. Marla Miller said,

    May 22, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Fond memories for me! Until about 5 years ago, when the catalpa worm just vanished! We live in northern Indiana and it was always time for vacation when the worms appeared. Can you tell me, what happened to them? My dad thinks it is due to all the crop dusting that has been done, even thought not close to us, the wind would carry the residue for some ways. Just wondered if anyone had an answer.

    • natureinquiries said,

      May 26, 2010 at 5:48 am

      Hi, Marla,
      I have not been aware of this, and cannot say how local or widespread it is. If crop spraying were responsible, I would expect all butterflies and moths to be affected, and that’s certainly not the case. It seems more likely that, at least in your area, there has been a drop in the catalpa sphinx population. It could be that there was an increase in the parasites sufficient to knock them back. Alternatively, a severe winter may have had an impact. In either case I would expect them to return sooner or later. Another possibility is that the trees you are accustomed to finding them on have matured to the point where they defend themselves too effectively. Catalpa sphinx focuses on younger catalpa trees, which while defended do not have the full resources of a mature tree. If that’s the case, it still should be possible to find them on smaller trees.
      Regards,
      Carl

  2. Marla Miller said,

    May 26, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Thanks for the info. I will pass it along to dad and go out and check around the younger trees in the woods later to see if they are hosting and of our little friends. Have a great day!
    Marla

  3. Cliff DePriest said,

    July 11, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    I’m 72 Yrs. old – have not seen my favorite fishing worm as a kid in the past ten years in the Alexandria, La. area. This was my reason for going to the internet for a clue to what has happened to them. Thanks to your website, I now have a clue. What can we do to bring them back? Anything ?
    Thanks for your help.

    • natureinquiries said,

      July 12, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      Hi, Cliff,
      I’m not familiar enough with catalpa worms across their range to be able to offer much. In the north they seem to be connected more with the younger, smaller trees, and so as a given tree matures it loses the caterpillars. Then they will disappear from groves where they used to occur, but might be a few miles away in a new patch of small catalpas. All I can suggest is that you search over a wider area. Good luck!
      Regards,
      Carl

  4. Emily said,

    September 2, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I’ve never seen these before on my 5 year old catalpa tree in Indianapolis until this year. They are all over the leaves throughout the tree and most are covered in the little white things which you called cocoons of parasitic wasps. Will these catapillers damage my tree, they seem to be eating the leaves? What can I do to get rid of them? Thanks!

    • natureinquiries said,

      September 3, 2010 at 5:47 am

      Hi, Emily,
      Sounds like the parasites are doing that for you. My suggestion would be not to do anything, as leaving the caterpillars will result in a large local population of the caterpillars’ enemy.
      Regards,
      Carl

  5. Mark Collins said,

    February 20, 2012 at 7:11 am

    I just like catalpa trees…worms and all. My favorite tree. They grow in Kansas. Slower than the south so they don’t break apart so easily. Smile…

  6. Stan Winters said,

    August 15, 2013 at 12:36 am

    What is the easiest way to start new trees, seed or cuttings.

    • natureinquiries said,

      August 20, 2013 at 6:57 am

      Sorry, Stan, I have no experience with propagating catalpa.
      Regards,
      Carl

    • BG said,

      June 5, 2015 at 7:35 pm

      Catalpa are easily grown from seeds which can be stripped from the interior of the pods after they hang on the tree over winter.
      Seeds are long and very flat and will germinate in soil or on damp paper towel. I’ve grown hundreds here in Minnesota. Some experience ‘tip burn’ over our harsh winters but survive easily, some just growing slower than others. A beautiful tree.

  7. Bob Princell said,

    September 15, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    Many catalpa trees where I live. Haven’t seen a catalpa worm for years. I ,live in northwest In.

  8. Billy Mixon said,

    September 22, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    I have a small catalpa tree and haven’t had many caterpillars this year, and none at all last year. This week I noticed one caterpillar with the small, white, cocoons on it. I had never seen them before but I suspected that it was some kind of parasitic insect’s cocoon. I like the caterpillars for bait, and have no desire to see them decimated by a wasp. As soon as I finish typing this I intend to go back out and take the caterpillar and it’s unwanted house guests, and dispose of them.
    Thanks for the very helpful information.

  9. Petlore said,

    June 6, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    While I hate the worms eating my only shade tree in my back yard I find it totally barbaric to stick a hook thru anything alive even a lowly worm. If you have ever stuck yourself with a hook splinter or anything remember the pain now imagine that thru your whole body, think of the horrific pain you are causing that creature.

    • Becky Smith said,

      September 6, 2018 at 10:43 am

      It’s not painful because the correct technique is to bite it’s head off, spit it out, then turn it inside out on the hook.

  10. Keith said,

    August 6, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    We have an infestation right now in our yard in Kansas.
    We have a dozen trees in their fifth year. I planted them from seed in my biology classroom. If I remember correctly, I collected the dried seed pods when they were splitting open to release the seeds. I may have then placed them in the freezer in some dry paper towels inside of a baggie. If not, I just left them in a drawer. Planted them in the spring in regular potting soil. When they were about 12-14″ tall I set them out on our property. Since we have had major local drought it has taken considerable water to keep them going. Now they are 6-8 ft tall.
    We have picked the worms off by hand on the small trees with the worst infestation. When we see eggs we also remove the dried leaves that can have hundreds of eggs on them. Some caterpillars do have the larva of the parasitic wasps on them so we leave them.

  11. linda said,

    July 29, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    How interesting ! I have just purchased two of these wonderfull trees,
    I had no idea how big they grew till I googled in the name, I sold one to a friend as we both have a large garden and 1 is enough for our gardens.
    thank you every one for the information on these trees.
    PS I live up in the mountains of BC canada in a valley so wish me luck on growing these trees.

  12. Angel said,

    August 11, 2015 at 1:09 pm

    I live in southwestern Pennsylvania and found a ton of these caterpillars on the catalpa tree at the end of my lot. I’ve never seen these before so I decided to look then up. Thanks for the info.

  13. Tim Cole said,

    June 22, 2018 at 12:41 am

    I now live and have lived 8 miles south of the southernmost tip of Lake Michigan. My great-grandfather planted a couple hundred catalpa trees over a hundred years ago. You want catalpas? I got them! Every late spring and summer every tree was filled with catalpa worms, their droppings all over the driveway, all over the cars, the sidewalks, the laundry on the line. Fishermen stopped by daily to ask if they could pick a few, and we let them.
    In the last ten years I’ve hardly seen any of these worms, They’re not hidden because the droppings would reveal them. No worms, no droppings, no moths. What happened?
    I live in a declining agricultural area. I use no sprays, my neighbors use no sprays; only the farmer across the road uses pesticides on his fields, but nothing touches the trees. It’s as though the catalpa worm is virtually extinct.
    Catalpas are pretty common around here because salesmen told farmers that the railroads would use the trees for rail ties, replacing oak, which was becoming harder to find. Great-Grandpa George fell for it, and some of the original trees are standing south of my house to this day. When I travel through the county, through northern Indiana, I pay close attention, but I see NO catalpa worms. What happened?

    • natureinquiries said,

      June 22, 2018 at 7:51 am

      Thanks, Tim, interesting observation. I can’t say for sure, but a couple ideas come to mind. First, it seems to me that the big old catalpas don’t have the caterpillars. I wonder if they have the means to manufacture enough defensive chemical that the females avoid laying eggs on them. Another possibility lies in the nature of insect populations. Some are reasonably steady, but others crash from time to time, and when they do it is usually because of disease or parasites. There are wasps that parasitize the caterpillars (you no doubt have seen these, caterpillars with the white elongate cocoons of the wasps attached all over where the larvae emerged; this kills the caterpillar). When the host population builds to a point where the parasite becomes superabundant, it can result in a profound crash in the host that can take years to recover. So I can’t say for sure what caused the things you are observing, but there are some possibilities.

    • Wayne Freeman said,

      November 27, 2018 at 4:33 pm

      I noticed the same thing around my old home town in Starke County about 3 or 4 years ago.
      I wonder if it’s the increased use of bacillus thuringiensis, either as applied as a spray or as genetically inserted, as a control for corn earworm.


Leave a comment