A Surprising Expansion

by Carl Strang

As I mentioned in the previous post, my first goal in surveying the 2024 emergence of periodical cicadas in the Brood XIII area was to determine how much, if at all, the major emergence area in DuPage County, Illinois, expanded relative to the previous emergence in 2007. It was clear that there previously had been a spread from the pre-settlement forested areas of eastern DuPage into the urban forests that had been planted in parks and peoples’ yards. That expansion was connected to the rapid growth of communities around the commuter railways connecting to Chicago.

I did not expect a large expansion in 2024, for two reasons. First, I walked the western edge of the northern main emergence lobe in 2007, mapping the area where cicadas had emerged, as indicated by nymphal skins on the ground and still attached to trees and other vertical surfaces. At the same time, I mapped where cicadas were chorusing. These maps are superimposed on an aerial view of where Glen Ellyn meets Wheaton:

The red line defines the western edge of the main emergence area in 2007. The yellow line indicates where chorusing males had moved beyond their emergence.

As you can see, these singing males had not been too adventurous, going at most a couple city blocks beyond their nymphal homes.

The second reason I did not expect a large expansion was what followed what appeared to be a significant dispersal event. On June 11, 2007, I was driving home from my office at Fullersburg Woods Forest Preserve, where huge numbers of cicadas had emerged. I came out of the forest and saw the sky above the empty area beyond the forest filled with emigrating cicadas. After that, I paid special attention to where cicadas were singing in new places. There were small, countable numbers of males widely scattered beyond the major emergence, but the only new choruses were small ones close to the original emergence area. Though most of the dead cicadas I looked at in these new areas were females, the numbers did not seem large enough to be significant.

So with that background, you can imagine my astonishment as I found that the cicadas had expanded their major emergence area by a huge amount:

Map of DuPage County showing the extents of the 2007 (pink) and 2024 (red) major emergences of periodical cicadas. Red dots mark locations of satellite choruses well separated from the main area and from each other.

The new edge is as much as 5 miles beyond the old one. How to account for this, given my 2007 observations? First, I was wrong in assuming that the dispersal I witnessed was of equal numbers of males and females. In hindsight, I realize that males don’t have much motivation for moving far beyond where they came out of the ground. They are unlikely to attract an unmated female in a place where cicadas had not emerged. Gravid females are another matter. Their offspring have a better chance of survival in a new area, where they don’t have to deal with so much crowding, and where their only specialized consumer, the parasitic fungus Massospora cicadina, has not yet been established.

A second contributing factor relates to my methods. The map outlines the major emergence area, where singing cicadas are so abundant that they cannot be counted. In parts of DuPage County in 2007, as mentioned above, I observed single males and small, countable groups of them outside of the major emergence area. Such small numbers are vulnerable to the many animals that eat them, but perhaps some were able to mate and produce young. Also, it seems likely now that most of the dispersing cicadas were females, which do not sing. If so, the potential for population growth is significant, as each female will lay 400 or more eggs.

The same potential exists this year, as again there have been individuals, small countable groups, and even small, localized choruses, beyond the 2024 major emergence area. Such satellite chorus areas are common in 2024, west and north of the main emergence. The ones noted in 2007 were fewer, and were very close to the major emergence area. One of the frustrations experienced by anyone studying periodical cicadas is the timespan between appearances. When the next major emergence of Brood XIII happens, I will be 90 years old if I remain at all.

5 Comments

  1. jpdenk said,

    June 27, 2024 at 1:02 pm

    Very interesting!My experience living near Tinley Park in south Cook County this year was of an unprecedented number of Cicadas in my yard and in the surrounding area. This was the 5th time that I’ve been through the Brood XIII emergences, and their numbers were incredible. In 2007, numbers of them on my property was almost nil. I was shocked by their numbers this year.Like you, I’ll be 90 for the next chapter, if I make to to 90, and I certainly hope to be around for that. 🙂

    • natureinquiries said,

      June 28, 2024 at 9:35 am

      Thank you for this. My experience outside of DuPage in 2007 was somewhat limited, but indicates that this new expansion also extended south into Will County.

  2. lisarainsong1 said,

    June 27, 2024 at 11:39 pm

    What an exciting post, Carl!

  3. Susan said,

    June 28, 2024 at 9:02 am

    Unfortunately I did not record them, but I had been hearing a small chorus from my location in Bloomingdale Township. I live directly east and about a mile from Mallard Lake Forest Preserve, and that location also has had chorusing males. The old cemetery on Lake Street in Bloomingdale has had a large amount of chorusing males as well. I was able to hear them while driving past with my window shut! If I do hear more, I will record them, but it might be too late. I too, will probably never experience this brood again.
    I only saw perhaps one or two cicadas in my garden, but I did find several exit holes. Maybe we can earn a red dot here in the NW corner of Dupage.

    • natureinquiries said,

      June 28, 2024 at 9:36 am

      Thank you, Susan, your observation fits with several isolated choruses I observed north of you in Cook County.


Leave a comment