Rounding Out Conehead Maps

by Carl Strang

This has been a good year in my quest for coneheads. The coneheaded katydids of genus Neoconocephalus are represented by six species (historically, seven) in the 22 counties I define as the Chicago region.

 

Sword-bearing conehead. This katydid is named for the female’s long ovipositor.

Prior to 2017, I had found sword-bearing coneheads (N. ensiger) in every county. In a recent post, I detailed the completion of the search for Nebraska coneheads (N. nebrascensis), which can be found in all but the three Wisconsin counties of the region. In another post I described progress in finding slightly musical coneheads (N. exiliscanorus).

 

Robust conehead in singing posture

 

Today I can report that I now have found two more species in all 22 counties: the robust conehead (N. robustus), and the round-tipped conehead (N. retusus). Though it extends into Wisconsin, the round-tipped thins out rapidly south to north, and some effort was needed to find a singing round-tipped conehead in the southern portion of Racine County, the region’s northernmost county.

 

Round-tipped conehead. The shape of the cone and the amount of black pigmentation help in species identification. The large jaws help them with their diet of seeds, and teach researchers to use caution in handling them.

The sixth species is the marsh conehead (N. palustris), which so far I have found only in Porter County, Indiana. Though I continue seeking the slender conehead (N. lyristes), I fear that it is extinct in the region.

 

Slender conehead. This museum specimen from the early 20th Century was collected in what is now Illinois Beach State Park. I have failed to find the species in my thorough exploration of its habitats there.

Leave a Reply

