Photos May-July

by Carl Strang

It’s been a busy field season, and I have fallen way behind in blog posts. I’ll catch up eventually, but today will share a smorgasbord of photos from May through July.

This barred owl appeared during a walk through St. James Farm Forest Preserve. I believe I had come close to its nest tree.

This barred owl appeared during a walk through St. James Farm Forest Preserve. I believe I had come close to its nest tree.

Here is the first slender spreadwing I have found at St. James Farm.

Here is the first slender spreadwing I have found at St. James Farm.

Wild yam graces the understory of the St. James Farm forest.

Wild yam graces the understory of the St. James Farm forest.

Sporangia on the underside of a lady fern leaf at St. James Farm.

Sporangia on the underside of a lady fern leaf at St. James Farm.

The Lulu Lake Nature Preserve in Walworth County, Wisconsin, has become a favorite site. Here a woodland graces a kame.

The Lulu Lake Nature Preserve in Walworth County, Wisconsin, has become a favorite site. Here a woodland graces a kame.

An eight-spotted forester provided a photo op in the nature preserve portion of the Round Lake state property in Starke County, Indiana.

An eight-spotted forester provided a photo op in the nature preserve portion of the Round Lake state property in Starke County, Indiana.

This dragonfly I encountered at Houghton Lake in Marshall County, Indiana, was a bit of a puzzler. I eventually concluded it was a somewhat odd widow skimmer.

This dragonfly I encountered at Houghton Lake in Marshall County, Indiana, was a bit of a puzzler. I eventually concluded it was a somewhat odd widow skimmer, but later changed the ID to slaty skimmer (see comments).

 

3 Comments

  1. August 25, 2016 at 7:14 am

    Wonderful observations! Thanks for sharing!

  2. old and tired said,

    August 28, 2016 at 2:36 am

    Still immensely enjoying your blog. Except for this past winter. Not one poem or musical interlude do I recall. I hope you didn’t run out of material and just forgot, or took a break. I miss those little rays of sunshine. Ok, I’m done complaining. 😉

    Now back to that dragonfly. What do you think of fem. (or maybe imm. fem.) Slaty Skimmer (Libellula incesta)? The fem. Great Blue Skimmer (Libellula vibrans) is similar but there are differences. One of them, I’ve read is that in incesta the legs are black except for the most extreme little bit near the base where they are brown. Your dragonfly shows other differences as well that set it apart from vibrans but, alas, I’m no expert, just a casual hobbyist with too much time on my hands.

    Speaking of time, winter will be here soon. (hint, hint) ;o)

    • natureinquiries said,

      August 28, 2016 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks for the feedback. I do have a song recording or two that I have not posted, and come winter will try to remember to bring them in.
      Nice catch on the dragonfly. It indeed proves to have been an immature slaty skimmer, a species much more widely distributed in Indiana than in my Illinois stomping grounds. Making the change accordingly.


Leave a Reply

