Broad-winged Tree Crickets 2015

by Carl Strang

The broad-winged tree cricket was the first singing insect species I found (in 2006, the first year of my study) that had shifted its northern range boundary significantly.

Broad-winged tree cricket

Broad-winged tree cricket

In contrast to the jumping bush cricket, this one seems to be moving slowly, but I have not followed it as closely. This year I put some time into locating northernmost singers, and found two locations.

Chicago region map of broad-winged tree cricket locations. Black dots mark counties where I have found the species to date. Red stars indicate specific locations where I found northernmost crickets singing this year.

Chicago region map of broad-winged tree cricket locations. Black dots mark counties where I have found the species to date. Red stars indicate specific locations where I found northernmost crickets singing this year.

These will be the starting points for next year’s check. The Kane County location is only 1.5 miles south of the southern McHenry-Lake County border line.

1 Comment

  1. Nancy said,

    October 14, 2015 at 6:21 am

    I’m waiting for them to come over the border into SE Wisconsin!


Leave a Reply

