A Night Excursion to Kankakee Sands

by Carl Strang

Kankakee Sands is a Nature Conservancy site in Newton County, Indiana. Except for the early-season bioblitz there a few years ago, my visits have been in the daytime. Last week I made a nighttime trip to Kankakee Sands. This netted several new species observations for the county as well as the site, the best of which was a grasshopper I had not encountered before.

The handsome grasshopper is well named. A spindly little guy, he was rather jumpy after I caught him in the grasses and released him on the gravel parking lot.

The handsome grasshopper is well named. A spindly little guy, he was rather jumpy after I caught him in the grasses and released him on the gravel parking lot.

All of that was incidental to my main goal, however, which was to continue my collaboration with Gideon Ney of the University of Missouri. Gideon’s lab, led by Johannes Schul, is working out the evolutionary history and relationships of the conehead katydids, genus Neoconocephalus. Two of them, the robust conehead and the false robust conehead, are sibling species reliably separated mainly by differences in their songs.

Robust conehead…or is it?

Robust conehead…or is it?

I stopped at several locations, recording singing males and then trying to catch them. I need practice. They were quick to stop singing as I approached. Ultimately I was able to accumulate 12 recordings, catching the males producing 6 of them.

Here they are, ready to be packed for overnight shipping along with the recordings.

Here they are, ready to be packed for overnight shipping along with the recordings.

A couple of the songs seemed different to my ear, so I am hopeful that the effort will result in a mix of the two species, and an education on what to look for in sonographs of the recordings so I don’t have to capture them in the other counties of my survey region.

Leave a Reply

