Return to Cicadas

by Carl Strang

On Monday I returned to the area where I searched for northernmost lyric cicadas, as described two posts ago. I had thought I heard a swamp cicada at Penny Road Pond, and wanted to listen again to confirm it.

Swamp cicada

Swamp cicada

This time two were singing, and there was no doubt I was hearing swamp cicadas’ percussive vibrato. The observation represented a shift well to the north of my previous northernmost location for the species.

The red star indicates the previous location at West Branch Forest Preserve in DuPage County. Penny Road Pond is marked by the yellow star. The two places are around 12 miles apart.

The red star indicates the previous location at West Branch Forest Preserve in DuPage County. Penny Road Pond is marked by the yellow star. The two places are around 12 miles apart.

I don’t know of any place in my 22-county survey region that has abundant swamp cicadas. As the map shows, I haven’t documented them in many counties. In large part that is because they sing only in the morning, and I have done most survey work in the afternoons and evenings when the majority of singing insects are displaying. On the other hand, I went for many long morning bicycle rides in Starke and Marshall Counties, Indiana, and heard only widely scattered individuals. Such a thin spread prevents me from being confident about finding the swamp cicada’s range boundary in the Chicago region.

Back to Monday of this week. I wanted to employ the bicycle as a tool again, this time to see if I could extend the lyric cicada’s northernmost point beyond last week’s record. I started from Trout Park, where I had heard that individual, and dropped down onto a bike trail that took me north along the Fox River. After going 6 miles without hearing a lyric cicada I turned around and headed back. Shortly after making that turn I heard a single lyric cicada, though, giving me a new north point 5 miles beyond the one reported earlier. That was it, however, as I heard no more on the return ride.

Revised lyric cicada map. The new location brings that species’ known range within 2 miles of the McHenry County border.

Revised lyric cicada map. The new location brings that species’ known range within 2 miles of the McHenry County border.

That is as much as I will do this year to determine the possible northward expansion of these two cicadas. I will be interested in pursuing this study in the future, mindful that the thin scatter of both species will lend some uncertainty to the results.

Leave a Reply

