And That’s a Wrap

by Carl Strang

Yesterday was my last day as a working man. I retired after a 34+ year career with the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County, which followed 5 years as a biology professor, which followed the Ph.D. graduate fellowship. I have been employed ever since I began a part-time job in my mid-teens, except for a summer break after my junior year in high school for a National Science Foundation study program at Purdue. The District allowed several roles, for instance:

As Fun Gus…

As Fun Gus…

As Helmut Frankenstein, president of the University of Notre Dead…

As Helmut Frankenstein, president of the University of Notre Dead…

As Aldo Leopold…

As Aldo Leopold…

And as a presenter at conferences and workshops.

And as a presenter at conferences and workshops.

It has been my honor to work with thousands of kids, teachers, and others over the years. It’s been enjoyable, and I’m satisfied with my contribution as an educator, but now it’s time to step aside and make room for new talents and ideas. The next couple months will be filled mainly with field research on singing insects, and after that there will be more than enough worthwhile activities to fill my time. Stay tuned.

5 Comments

  1. Hal Atherton said,

    August 12, 2015 at 6:45 am

    Congratulations Carl. Well done.

  2. old and tired said,

    August 12, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    Yes . . . Well . . . What he said. But, I have to add I’m just bit miffed. I was expecting a video performance of some original lyrical composition on the Yaybahar (or something) in a meadow or marsh somewhere. Anything to mark the occasion (if not the end, then the beginning) so I could crack my biannual smile. Oh, well, I’ll stay tuned. Who knows what will happen when a kid like you gets tossed into an unstructured environment.

  3. mac said,

    August 20, 2015 at 7:49 am

    now is the time to resurrect Clydus as a recurring comic/eduxcational figure, perhaps in the manner of Bloom County. will help fill your time and keep me entertained.

    • natureinquiries said,

      August 21, 2015 at 7:27 am

      Steve, I am impressed that you remember Clydus. Sadly I lack Breathed’s comic genius.

  4. weinerdog43 said,

    September 18, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    Congratulations Carl. Your work has been excellent and duly noted by us amateur naturalists. Well done indeed.


Leave a Reply

