Parson’s Grove Visit

by Carl Strang

One evening last week I paid a visit to Parson’s Grove at Danada Forest Preserve. I felt that Nebraska coneheads were due to start singing, and Parson’s Grove has the largest population I have encountered in DuPage County, which makes it the northernmost significant population I have found to date in the Chicago region. There seemed to be more individuals singing that night than I remember from previous years. I tracked one down for a photo.

He proved to be a brown one. The conehead katydids all can be green or brown, but this is the first brown one of this species I have seen.

He proved to be a brown one. The conehead katydids all can be green or brown, but this is the first brown one of this species I have seen.

Another goal was to photograph a male rattler round-winged katydid, if any were going there. I have photos of a couple females, but lacked one of a male. I heard three at Parson’s Grove, and caught one in the open on a giant ragweed leaf.

My headlamp didn’t seem to disturb him as he casually groomed his feet.

My headlamp didn’t seem to disturb him as he casually groomed his feet.

The brown area on his back, which is part of the wings’ song-producing apparatus, is one distinguishing feature of males.

Parson’s Grove is a great place to hear a wide variety of nocturnal singing insects. DuPage County’s forest preserves provide a huge advantage to the region’s nature lovers, in that the preserves close an hour after sunset rather than right at sunset as is the case in the less enlightened surrounding counties.

Leave a Reply

