Prairie Cicadas Ran Late

by Carl Strang

Prairie cicadas are very locally distributed in northeastern Illinois, and I have not yet found them in Indiana or Wisconsin. Their season is brief and variable, and so I rely on a population near my home, at West Chicago Prairie Forest Preserve, to tell me when they are active each year. This year has been a bust in my search for new populations. The largest number I counted at West Chicago Prairie was only 4, on July 12, and they were difficult to pick out among the many gladiator meadow katydids, whose briefer buzz has a similar sound quality. Usually the cicadas are finished before the gladiators become numerous. There were no cicadas singing in my final check yesterday.

Side view of one of this year’s few singers.

Side view of one of this year’s few singers.

Dorsal view of the same individual. These guys are little, about an inch long.

Dorsal view of the same individual. These guys are little, about an inch long.

At least some cicada species have the ability to postpone emergence by a year. Perhaps the rain or periods of cool weather at the beginning of the usual emergence period persuaded some of these to wait. If so, there may be increased numbers next year, and I will be able to resume my search for undiscovered populations.

1 Comment

  1. August 10, 2015 at 5:52 am

    […] case in point is the prairie cicada, which I have featured here in the past. Another is the bush cicada. I made a trip south of the Chicago region last week to get some […]


Leave a Reply

