Beauty in a Small Package

by Carl Strang

Working in one of my garden flowerbeds, I noticed a tiny critter with long hind legs. A glimpse was enough to interrupt the weeding and send me in for a camera.

He’s not even big enough to straddle a narrow daylily leaf. You can see why I wanted a photo.

He’s not even big enough to straddle a narrow daylily leaf. You can see why I wanted a photo.

With those legs, antennae, and colors, clearly this was a katydid nymph. But which one? A quick perusal of the BugGuide and Singing Insects of North America websites ruled out the species that I regularly have heard in my neighborhood block counts. It is a close match to photos identified as early-instar fork-tailed bush katydids, however. That makes sense for the neighborhood habitat, but I haven’t heard any here over the past couple of years. Or any other Scudderia species for that matter. I hope that this one, or a sibling, will survive to adulthood and sing so I can confirm their presence. This perhaps is a hint that I need to get in the business of rearing nymphs, like my esteemed Wisconsin and Ohio colleagues, Nancy Oecanthinancy and Lisa Rainsong.

Leave a Reply

