Sound Ideas: Vegemite

by Carl Strang

“Vegemite” entered the American popular vocabulary in the early 1980’s, thanks to the song “Down Under” by the rock band Men at Work. One of the goals of my trip to Australia was to have lunches built around Vegemite sandwiches. As this is a biological product, and my lunches were experiments in new foods, I don’t feel I am stretching this blog’s mission too much by sharing here the song that resulted from those experiments.

Yes, I brought some back from Australia. And yes, haven’t opened them in over a decade. The song explains why.

Yes, I brought some back from Australia. And yes, haven’t opened them in over a decade. The song explains why.

The didjeridu is a notoriously difficult instrument to mike properly. I did my best. Here’s the chorus:

Vegemite, Vegemite, Vegemite, it’s a legendary substance and a pure delight. If you have no sense of taste or smell I’m sure you’ll agree that a Vegemite sandwich is ecstasy.

(I know I have a few Australian readers. Please don’t feel insulted. A common Australian attitude toward Vegemite was summed up by a woman who exclaimed with delight, upon seeing the diverse breakfast spread at one of the motels where I stayed: “Oh, you have Vegemite and everything!”).

 

Leave a Reply

