Lessons from Travels: Caribou

by Carl Strang

Travel offers many comparisons to the home landscape. Sometimes you can go back in time. I felt that way during my trip to Newfoundland in 2002, when my first day’s drive brought me to a herd of caribou.

The irregular southeastern peninsula of this island province in Canada offers the rare opportunity to encounter caribou along a paved road.

The irregular southeastern peninsula of this island province in Canada offers the rare opportunity to encounter caribou along a paved road.

A curious calf detached itself from the group and approached my stopped car.

My clicking shutter sent him back to the herd.

My clicking shutter sent him back to the herd.

Thousands of years before paved roads, as the glacier retreated from northeast Illinois, caribou followed with the tundra and stunted early trees as they trailed the ice edge.

Leave a Reply

