Singing Insect Guide Available

by Carl Strang

The latest update of my guide to the singing insects of the Chicago region is ready to be sent out to those who want it. Yesterday I forwarded it to those already on the mailing list. If you want a copy of this free 2-3meg pdf file, simply send a request to me at my work address, cstrang@dupageforest.com. The guide is quite a bit different from last year’s version. I have added a number of photos, added several species pages, and added range maps.

Here is an example page from the guide, for the snowy tree cricket.

Here is an example page from the guide, for the snowy tree cricket.

I wasn’t going to add the maps this year, but decided that they are an incomplete component of an incomplete guide, so why not? The number of species with pages in the main text now is up to 66. The hypotheticals section has information on an additional 12 species.

I am also sending out my draft protocol for singing insects monitoring to those who request the guide.

1 Comment

  1. June 27, 2013 at 6:15 am

    […] I updated my regional guide to singing insects over the winter, I decided to add range maps. This was a little premature, because I barely have […]


Leave a Reply

