Houghton Lake

by Carl Strang

A priority site in this year’s singing insect survey work was Houghton Lake, a Nature Conservancy property near my home town of Culver, Indiana. The muck, marl and sand soils potentially support communities including wetland crickets and katydids that I have not yet found. Last week I spent an afternoon and evening walking through the site.

The property, named for this lake, is of particular interest as it hosts a population of rare massassauga rattlesnakes.

There are many smaller wet areas on the site, which is a flat postglacial lake plain. It has great botanical as well as zoological biodiversity.

For the most part I found a long list of familiar, common species.

Black-legged meadow katydids, like this female, are expected in wet areas.

As I walked the lanes I heard crickets singing in the pattern of Say’s trigs, but with a more mechanical or buzzing sound quality. I spent some time searching, because I thought they would prove to be a species I had not seen before. This effort was rewarded.

The handsome trig is one of the more beautiful singing insects in the region. They are tiny, around a quarter inch long.

Another unfamiliar sound was a rhythmic “warg warg warg” coming from a couple wet prairie areas. The song’s rhythm was like that of slightly musical coneheads, but that katydid produces a call with a distinctly buzzing quality. A comparison of recordings led me to the northern mole cricket. The mole cricket’s song is a chirp, but so deep that it is not readily characterized as such. Like the handsome trig, this was a species new to my experience. For future monitoring purposes I was pleased at how far their songs carry, and that at least sometimes they can be heard singing in the mid-afternoon.

A few conehead nymphs turned up in sweep net samples.

These probably will prove to be round-tipped coneheads, which mature later than most of their relatives.

An additional interesting insect was a great blue skimmer.

This was only the third individual of this species I have encountered.

Most of the conservative species I’d hoped to find at Houghton Lake eluded me, but I was only able to see part of the site, and I intend to return.

2 Comments

  1. September 4, 2012 at 5:55 am

    […] haven’t had a lot of luck with wetland conservatives. The northern mole cricket was one, but I still have not found them anywhere but Houghton Lake. The marsh conehead was another. […]

  2. September 28, 2012 at 5:51 am

    […] year to Houghton Lake in north central Indiana. I had not been able to reach certain wetlands on my previous visit, but with much of my strength recovered I was able to wade through the tall dense vegetation. The […]


Leave a Reply

