Early Singing Insects

by Carl Strang

To this point in the season I have heard singing males of 10 insect species in northeast Illinois. All but one began earlier than in any of the years from 2006 to 2011. This is consistent with more general insect phenology this year, and is attributable to a mild winter and a warm March which heated the soil earlier than usual. The only species with a later starting date was the spring field cricket, a species I usually hear first while running or bike riding, activities my back trouble prevented during the critical time period. And yet, despite that limited mobility, I have recorded dates for the other 9 species that ranged 5-22 days earlier than in any previous year (4 of the previous records were in 2007, 5 in 2010, 1 last year; they add up to 10 because of a tie). The only other case perhaps worth singling out was the broad-winged bush katydid, 22 days earlier than last year’s previous record. This species is not abundant or widely distributed, and I suspect it has a longer, earlier season than I have realized before. I should make some effort in future years to get a better handle on its starting and ending dates.

Broad-winged bush katydid

For those who may be interested, here are all the first song dates this year so far. Greenstriped grasshopper 3 April, 17 days earlier than the previous record. Spring field cricket 25 May, 20 days later. Roesel’s katydid 29 May, 11 days earlier. Protean shieldback 5 June, 7 days earlier. Linne’s cicada 14 June, 12 days earlier. Gladiator meadow katydid 14 June, 7 days earlier. Dog day cicada 15 June, 5 days earlier. Scissor-grinder cicada 19 June, 13 days earlier. Broad-winged bush katydid 23 June, 22 days earlier. Lyric cicada 24 June, 6 days earlier.

2 Comments

  1. nickonnature said,

    July 1, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    I’m Nick, a blind 15-year-old teen in western NY. I have a strong passion for nature myself, and was out listening to broad-winged katydids this evening. I came in and searched onGoogle for more info, and I found your blog. I operate a nature blog from this area as well, with sounds featured since I can’t do photography.

    I look forward to following your blog! It looks like a fantastic site!

    • natureinquiries said,

      July 2, 2012 at 5:43 am

      Thanks, Nick,
      I hope to feature sounds here as well, some day.
      Regards,
      Carl


Leave a Reply

