Finding Changes

by Carl Strang

My back and leg had healed enough for me to retrieve the amphibian traps from the stream corridor marsh at Mayslake Forest Preserve.

The marsh had dried around the edges, making the approach easier.

As I went, I noticed some changes. The shelf of wood that had supported the ill-fated Canada goose nest collapsed.

Traces of the nest remained, but the eggs were long gone.

I also found two new plants. One was abundant enough that I should have seen it before.

Nodding bur marigold, blooming early for a Bidens, like everything else this year.

There was only one individual of the other plant, so I took photos and a single tiny flower.

It proved to be marsh cress, a member of the mustard family.

There always is something new to be found in preserve monitoring.

Leave a Reply

