Spring Time

by Carl Strang

It’s spring, and it’s time, time to shift into the new season. There are signs in abundance.

Downy woodpeckers have been getting feisty.

On Tuesday I saw Mayslake Forest Preserve’s first butterfly of the season.

An eastern comma, one of the butterflies that hibernate in the adult form.

Yesterday I set out the amphibian traps in the stream corridor marsh. It seems doubtful there are any salamanders to catch, but other interesting things turned up last season, and I’m willing to try again.

It’s important to make sure part of the trap is out of the water, for the benefit of air breathers that may get caught.

I also have begun to break out of my routine preserve monitoring routes. I am sure that after 3 years I am getting diminishing returns from them. Yesterday provided a case in point.

I have walked the trail past this big cottonwood (40 inches in diameter) many times, but yesterday I made my way through the brush on its backside, and saw this scar.

A close look revealed an interesting story.

Years ago, beavers had the ambition of chewing down the big tree. Their gnawing girdled it half way around before they gave up, or left.

In the first of the two photos you can see how large the area is where the tree has grown back over the scar. This is the largest such overgrowth I have seen, apart from lightning scars. Those are not as deep as this, however. This is a good example of how much of this preserve’s story I still have to learn.

1 Comment

  1. jomegat said,

    March 8, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    I like to vary my normal route too, just to see what I’ve been missing.

    I like your beaver tree. Looks like they bit off more than they could chew, but who could blame them! My ambition sometimes exceeds my abilities too.


Leave a Reply

