Horlock Hill

by Carl Strang

Horlock Hill Prairie is regarded as one of the highest quality bits of dry prairie in northern Illinois. It is located right at the start of the Great Western Trail in Les Arends Forest Preserve in Kane County, and I have zipped right past it on my bike many a time without realizing its significance.

The designated natural area itself is small, at 2-3 acres, but I was impressed by the floral diversity.

Adjacent meadows and prairie restoration projects enlarge the effective area in prairie or prairie-like vegetation. In one of these I spotted a small meadow katydid which appeared at first to be a short-winged, but lacked the orange abdomen tip. He allowed me to get some photos, and when I looked at them later I was pleased to see the distinctive cerci of a straight-lanced meadow katydid.

The cerci are the little pincer-like structures at the tip of the abdomen. They are long, straight, abruptly flattened in the tips, and the small, inward-pointing tooth is near the base of each.

I found a female of this species at Mayslake Forest Preserve last year, but this is the first male I have seen. The only congeners I heard around Horlock Hill through the SongFinder were abundant short-winged meadow katydids. It was a cool, cloudy day, however, and the song of the straight-lanced is a steady uninterrupted faint buzz that may have been too faint to hear under those conditions. Certainly the short-wings were slowed quite a bit.

Otherwise the singing insects there were all of common species, except that I heard a couple probable broad-winged tree crickets. All of this points to a return to that site under warmer conditions.

1 Comment

  1. July 25, 2012 at 5:55 am

    […] about the straight-lanced meadow katydid. My only certain identification in northeast Illinois was a male in Kane County last year. I had photographed some females with long ovipositors, but most of these seemed better fits as […]


Leave a Reply

