Another Pileated Surprise

by Carl Strang

Sitting at the computer early Saturday morning in my parents’ house in Culver, Indiana, I heard a pileated woodpecker calling. I didn’t believe it at first, which also was my reaction when I first heard one at Mayslake Forest Preserve last spring. A few minutes later it called again and I had to go out and see. Sure enough.

It was shy, and I couldn’t get close, but there’s no mistaking the bird’s identity in this highly magnified photo fragment.

The local red-headed woodpeckers were going nuts. Yes, in town, albeit a small town, where the trees don’t look all that different in size and scatter from many a suburban Chicago area neighborhood, there have been red-headed woodpeckers nesting for years.

The red-headeds have nested successfully, too. Taking advantage of the disturbance the pileated left in its wake, I photographed this fledgling.

This incident was yet another bit of experience leading me to believe that pileated woodpeckers, once very rare regionally, are expanding their numbers and acceptable habitat range.

Leave a Reply

