Female Oblong-winged Katydid

by Carl Strang

On Saturday morning I was riding my bike on the Prairie Path when I passed a katydid on the trail. I turned around, dug out the phone, and
took some photos. It proved to be an oblong-winged katydid.

The tip of the right forewing is damaged.

Not certain of the phone-camera’s capabilities, I took photos from both sides. I didn’t expect much from the backlit side, but later learned something from it.

With the sun shining through the wings, you can see not only that this is a female, but get an idea of the ovipositor’s shape.

It was palpating the trail surface, apparently picking up some minerals.

Leave a Reply

