Where I’ve Been

by Carl Strang

This week there have been fewer posts, as I have been occupied with the Roger Raccoon Club. This is not, as you might guess, a camp about natural history, though inevitably there are moments when such teaching opportunities arise. These are based on the kids’ discoveries, however. The main point is teaching how to play and explore safely in the out-of-doors, and we give them as much free time as possible. One highlight is when kids get the opportunity to see what they can catch with nets in a pond.

Wading is by no means necessary, but on a hot day…

The main universal catch is happiness.

She went in deeper and stayed in longer than anyone else.

The week culminates in an overnight campout. That stay at Waterfall Glen gave me some natural history observations that I’ll share next week.

1 Comment

  1. Beth Johnson said,

    August 5, 2011 at 9:02 am

    What fun! Wish I could go to that camp.


Leave a comment