Thanks, Dad!

by Carl Strang

Last year I broke out of the usual realm of this blog to pay tribute to my Mom for Mother’s Day. This year it’s Dad’s turn.

Ted L. Strang’s favorite activity always was fishing.

Dad can’t handle fishing tackle any more, and his memory isn’t what it used to be, but he maintains a positive attitude. He was a rock when supporting Mom as she went through her health crisis last year. I have Dad to thank for much of my interest in the out-of-doors.

Dad passed on the outdoor traditions of hunting and fishing to my brother and me. Here he poses with the ducks from a day’s hunt, a few years after returning from World War II and a year and a half before I was born.

I’ve done my best to return the favor.

In the years when he still maintained his own pier but could no longer put it out or take it in alone, I helped. It was a small return.

My parents don’t have a computer. I express my gratitude to them directly. But it’s appropriate to acknowledge that I wouldn’t be here, and this blog wouldn’t exist, without the grounding I received, in the woods and fields, on the lakes and rivers, from my Dad. Happy Father’s Day!

1 Comment

  1. Hal Atherton said,

    June 17, 2011 at 6:43 am

    A touching tribute Carl. Well done. I’m sure your Dad is as proud of you as well.


Leave a Reply

