Singing Insects Guide

by Carl Strang

At Saturday’s “Wild Things” conference I unveiled the initial draft of a guide to the singing insects of the Chicago region that I have assembled for the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County.

This cover displays the draft label more prominently than you will see if you get a copy.

The guide includes information about all the species I have found so far, and brief entries on species that may be here but I haven’t found yet. There are photos, descriptions of the insects and their songs, links to recordings of songs, habitats, singing season, etc. Ultimately we will make it available on line, but for now it is in too rough a form for that. However, if you are interested I can send the present version as an e-mail attachment. You will need to send an e-mail request for it to me at my work address: cstrang@dupageforest.com

The document is in the form of a 4-meg PDF file. If your receive it, please do not copy the file to anyone else. Instead, others can contact me the same way and I will send it out. That way, I will be able to contact people who have it and let them know about updated versions. I am hoping that by getting it out in this rough form I will get feedback that will improve it, and also tips on additional information about these insects in our area that will improve my knowledge and, thereby, updated versions of the guide.

1 Comment

  1. September 14, 2011 at 5:58 am

    […] but their song is distinctive. Nevertheless, one of my goals this year was to get a photograph for my singing insects guide.  Last month I made my first effort at Warrenville Grove. This is a typical interior forest scene […]


Leave a Reply

