Block Counts

by Carl Strang

One easy data set to collect in my singing insects study is simply to walk around my neighborhood block (usually when going to my mailbox) and count the insects I hear. For this year I have comparisons between years, a comparison to my new count at my parents’ home in Culver, Indiana, and a consideration of species counts with respect to the time of sunset. Today I’ll focus on this year’s results in my neighborhood.

This photo of my yard is not representative of the neighborhood, in that most of my neighbors are lawn lovers who have very limited shrub and herbaceous plantings.

The overall count in my Warrenville, Illinois, block was 15 species in 2010 (for the complete list go here). No new species were added. Again in 2010 the only species abundant enough for comparisons between years were striped and Carolina ground crickets, and greater anglewing katydids.

Striped ground crickets are named for stripes on the top of the head.

Though striped ground crickets occur in prairies, they really hit their stride in mowed lawns. Not only are they the most abundant singing insect in my neighborhood, their numbers have been very consistent over the years with median counts of 13, 12, 12 and 14.5 in the respective years of 2007 to 2010. None of these differences are statistically significant.

The ticking song of the greater anglewing is a distinctive summer evening sound wherever this katydid occurs.

Carolina ground crickets, which hang out in denser plantings, and tree-dwelling greater anglewings likewise showed no changes between 2009 and 2010 (this year’s median counts 4 and 1, respectively).

1 Comment

  1. January 5, 2011 at 7:19 am

    […] enough counts of singing insects in the small rural town of Culver, Indiana, to compare them to my block counts in Warrenville, Illinois, of the Chicago suburbs. I walked around similar sized blocks in the two […]


Leave a Reply

