Coots and Snow Buntings

by Carl Strang

On a brief trip to Culver, Indiana, last week I took some time to visit the town park and look for migrant ducks on Lake Maxinkuckee. There were coots aplenty, diving for water plants and quibbling as coots do.

There were thousands of coots, a few grebes and a loon, but no ducks other than local semi-domestic mallards.

The highlight came, not from waterfowl but from a trio of small birds that popped up along the shore of the lake.

Snow buntings! I never had seen one in all my childhood years of birding that town.

They were looking for seeds along the shore. It’s worth going out even on the dismal days of November. You never know what you may discover.

2 Comments

  1. Joe Clenney said,

    November 9, 2010 at 8:40 am

    I wanted the website so I could refresh my mind. I also wanted to be reminded of the beauty, simplicity, and complexity of Nature. I stayed in the Woods of Eufaula, Alabama by the Chattahoochee for many seasons. I still remember the burst of fall colors against the backdrop of the muddy river. I have the kind of mind that arrests images in time so I appreciate your efforts. I remember you in your US Naval Academy Blues when you came home from Annapolis.

    • natureinquiries said,

      November 9, 2010 at 10:23 am

      Thanks for the compliment, Joe, but you are giving me a credit I do not deserve. My father was in the Navy in WWII, I have a nephew who is a flight instructor in the Air Force, but I have not myself served in any of the armed forces.
      Regards,
      Carl


Leave a Reply

