Wings Flash

by Carl Strang

I was finishing a bike workout, pedaling the final blocks toward home, when a large insect flew across my path. Green, and with wings and legs widely spread, it gave me the split-second first impression was that I was seeing a praying mantis. But the wings were wrong, proportions were wrong, and it didn’t have the Edward Gorey weirdness of a mantis’ profile in flight. The insect turned around, flew back across the street, and crash landed on a lawn. I stopped, dug out the phone, and used it to photograph what I now realized was a greater anglewing.

The spread of that katydid’s wings in flight reminded me of another recent observation. I have taken opportunities to watch a few Texas bush katydids singing, and have been struck by how much the wings flip out to the sides, especially when compared to the more subtle vibrations of singing meadow katydids. I suspect I may be onto what made the Texas bush katydid I observed at Pratts Wayne Woods have such a slurred short-song, with a quality reminiscent of the broad-winged bush katydid’s corresponding advertisement. Here’s another shot of the Pratts Wayne katydid.

It’s missing a wing tip, and there also was scarring near the base of the left forewing. Such damage may well have caused the dramatically flipping wings to sound abnormal when rubbing together to produce the song. The typical crispness that would come from, say, this undamaged conspecific I saw in the dolomite prairie at Waterfall Glen, is compromised.

By the same token, the broad-winged bush katydid’s wings are shorter and wider, and might be expected to flop around more, so that the slurring typical of that species’ short song results. Experimental manipulations suggest themselves, but I’m not interested in captive studies at present.

Leave a Reply

