Pratts Wayne Woods

by Carl Strang

Pratts Wayne Woods is the largest of DuPage County’s forest preserves. While its 3500 acres have much to offer, the target of my most recent visit was the Brewster Creek Marsh. I had a couple species of meadow katydids in mind that I especially hoped to find there. The part of that marsh I was surveying was adjacent to a dry area where there are high-level equestrian jumping competitions. As I passed through part of that meadow I heard a bush cricket’s short song. It took some minutes to find him, as he took advantage of the light wind moving his perch to keep an edge toward me.

His song was a little ambiguous. I have come to think of the broad-winged bush katydid’s short song as sounding blurred, run together, and composed of more than 3 syllables. The Texas bush katydid usually has a three-syllable short song that sounds, to my ear, crisp and articulated: dig-a-dig! I needed to take the time to find this individual because his short song had 3 syllables but sounded slurred together.

The wing proportions alone say Texas bush katydid, but to be sure I caught him and photographed his tail plate, confirming the ID. Now it seems I will have to find a few more and confirm that it’s the syllable count rather than the crispness that matters in separating these two species. Soon thereafter I found myself in a wet area dense with tall sedges in northern Brewster Creek Marsh.

It was disappointing, however. There was essentially nothing to be found out in the sedge area, and just a few black-legged and short-winged meadow katydids singing along the edge. I moved west to a grassy area at the edge of a large pond. As I stepped out of the woods into that grass I caught a flash of golden brown as a slender jumper got out of my way. My immediate hope was fulfilled when a close look proved the insect to be one of my target species, a male black-sided meadow katydid.

This was the best photo I got of a male. The abdomen is mainly a shiny black in color. I saw several males, and also a female.

She easily is the most colorful small meadow katydid I have seen, and would vie with the male black-leg (a large meadow katydid) as the local show winners for subfamily Conocephalinae.

1 Comment

  1. September 22, 2010 at 6:13 am

    […] to the more subtle vibrations of singing meadow katydids. I suspect I may be onto what made the Texas bush katydid I observed at Pratts Wayne Woods have such a slurred short-song, with a quality reminiscent of the broad-winged bush katydid’s […]


Leave a Reply

