A Week of Firsts

by Carl Strang

The past week brought the true beginning of the singing insects season. Though a full work week and other obligations filled my time, I was able to take advantage of what I have learned in past seasons to make some observations that were valuable to me.

For instance, last year I finally nailed down features of the two-spotted tree cricket’s song that removed my earlier uncertainty. The breakthrough came when I found this male, who had chewed a hole in a grape leaf to create a baffle that amplified and/or directed his song.

Finally seeing one of his kind in action, I was able to define the song of that species by the irregular length of its trills, some reaching 7 seconds’ length or more, the spaces between trills being either very brief, or longer but filled with stuttering sounds, and the strained or discordant quality of the sound.

That discovery allowed me to be confident in identifying the first two-spotteds singing in DuPage County, Illinois, this year, on July 12. That is the earliest song date I have for that species, by 5 days.

I also heard the year’s first ground crickets in DuPage. I had been gone a week, and returned to hear striped (photo below) and Allard’s ground crickets on July 12, and Carolina ground crickets on the 13th (I had heard all three near Culver, Indiana, on July 8). Though not the earliest ever, all three species were singing near the earliest first song dates I have noted for them since my study began in 2006.

Mayslake Forest Preserve is one of the DuPage County sites where there are fall field crickets but no spring field crickets. So, when I heard a field cricket song there on July 14 I marked the beginning of that species’ singing season (female shown).

During First Folio Theater’s evening performance of Twelfth Night at Mayslake I heard a few protean shieldbacks singing, my first record of that katydid species on that preserve (female shown).

Finally, I heard my first sword-bearing coneheads of the year while driving to Culver on the evening of July 16.

There are plenty of other species yet to begin, but it feels like the singing insects season has begun in earnest.

Leave a Reply

