Alocasia Over Winter

by Carl Strang

Though my gardens are dominated by native species, I accent them with horticultural additions. This insures visual variety and color through the season, and allows for more of a blend with the neighborhood as a whole. One feature I added last year was an urn with a big-leaved tropical Alocasia ‘Sarian’ and a couple New Guinea impatiens. In the fall I brought the urn indoors, to see if its plants might survive the winter. I placed it near the orchids to take advantage of the added lighting there. The impatiens didn’t make it: I wasn’t able to keep the urn watered well enough. The Alocasia survived, however, and on June 20 I moved it outside.

Two leaves had persisted through the winter, and a fresh one expanded before I moved the plant back out. I added a couple new impatiens, and the accent is complete.

Leave a Reply

