Happy Familiar Things

by Carl Strang

While I have my creative side, and there’s a part of me that enjoys novelty, I also take comfort in familiar patterns. As the seasons turn, I take delight in recurring sounds and sights associated with each point in the year. Early in spring I enjoy looking for the relatively large, common bee fly Bombylius major.

I like it because of the contrast between the round fuzzy body and the long pointy beak. Mayapple leaves rise from the ground in clustered clonal colonies. Shortly after their folded umbrella leaves open, they bloom.

Spring migration brings the kaleidoscope of colors and cacophony of songs from the many birds. One of my favorites is the rose-breasted grosbeak. Here a male takes aim at an insect on a leaf.

One of the grand displays is bud break in shagbark hickories.

These spring events are all the more delightful after the long 3 seasons of winter.

1 Comment

  1. May 20, 2010 at 9:02 am

    We had no rose-breasted grosebeaks this year. I thought they must have gone straight back to the mountains, but some friends about 3 miles away had then and evidently Juli Zickafoos did also.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

