Green-winged Cicada Update

by Carl Strang

I have made a correction to yesterday’s post on green-winged cicadas. I always check my posts when I get to work, to make sure nothing is lost in the translation to another computer. In the process of checking links, I went to the Cassin’s 17-year cicada portion of the Michigan cicada website. There I saw something I hadn’t noticed before, mention of “Court II” and “Court III” signals. The Court III signal is produced by a male cicada as he connects with a female for mating.

Cassin’s 17-year cicadas, mating pair

Cassin’s 17-year cicadas, mating pair

When I played the Court III signal recording, it proved to be what I had attributed to green-winged cicadas in 2007. That both corrected my impression of Diceroprocta in DuPage County, and removed any confusion about my observations in 2013.

2 Comments

  1. Hal Atherton said,

    December 17, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Hi Carl, This is off today’s subject. Not far from my home is a farm raising an elk herd. As I drove past the pasture I saw the bull elk laying down and two does were chewing on his antlers. Every once in a while he would move his head slightly in an apparent attempt to get them to stop. They weren’t detered. Quite a bit of antler had been chewed away on both sides. What’s with that??????

    • natureinquiries said,

      December 18, 2013 at 6:52 am

      Hi, Hal,
      Sounds like a mineral deficiency in their diet. Certainly not behavior one would expect from free-living elk.
      Regards,
      Carl


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

